Guide · Polishers

Mini polishers for tight areas

How 3-inch and smaller polishers reach pillars, mirrors and bumper recesses: RUPES's HLR75 and FLEX's PXE 80 set compared from the makers' specs.

A gloved hand wiping a dark blue car panel with a microfiber towel
Photo: Luay Barani / Unsplash

Short answer

A mini polisher uses a 3-inch (75 mm) or smaller plate to reach places a 5- or 6-inch pad cannot sit flat: pillars, mirror caps, bumper recesses and door handles. RUPES's HLR75 pairs a 75 mm plate with a 12 mm orbit for curves, contours and compact areas.[1] FLEX's PXE 80 set goes smaller still, with interchangeable rotary and orbital heads down to a 30 mm pad.[2] Both are closed systems with their own batteries and chargers.

Two ways to build a mini polisher

RUPES BigFoot HLR75 iBridFLEX PXE 80 12V Multi-Polisher-Set (kit 493503)
MotionRandom orbital, 12 mm orbit[1]Interchangeable heads: rotary, plus random orbital with 3 mm or 12 mm stroke[2]
Plate or pad75 mm (3-inch) backing plate[1]30 mm and 75 mm backing pads[2]
Speed3,000-5,500 rpm[1]Not stated in the kit listing we read
Power18 V 2.5 Ah pack, or corded with the iBrid Power Adapter[1]Two 12 V 2.5 Ah batteries and a FLEX charger in the kit[2]
Runtime, per the makerAbout 35-45 minutes per pack; charger fills it in about 35 minutes[1]Not stated in the kit listing we read

Both figures are the makers' own. We found no independent runtime measurements.

One motion, or several heads

The RUPES approach is a dedicated small random orbital machine. Its 12 mm orbit on a 75 mm plate keeps the familiar DA motion at a scale that fits a pillar or a mirror.[1]

The FLEX approach is one motor with swappable heads. The US kit includes a rotary adapter and random orbital adapters with 3 mm and 12 mm stroke.[2] That covers more jobs, including a small rotary for very tight spots, but the rotary head is still a rotary: Auto Care HQ notes that rotaries build heat and friction faster and are mostly used by experienced users.[3] FLEX's accessory sizes are its own PXE system, and a bare tool or a different kit number may include different parts.[2]

Batteries are system-specific

Small polishers often run on small packs, and those packs belong to one system. RUPES says the HLR75's charger is custom designed for that machine's pack.[1] Its larger HLR15 and HLR21 iBrid polishers also use 18 V packs, but a 5 Ah pack rather than the HLR75's 2.5 Ah one.[4] Same voltage does not make them the same pack. See cordless polisher battery compatibility.

When a mini polisher earns its place

  • Pillars, mirror caps, spoilers and badges: areas where a 5-inch pad bridges the surface or tips onto its edge.
  • Bumper recesses and lower valances: curves where a large free-spinning pad tends to stall; see why a DA stops spinning.
  • Not for whole panels: a 75 mm pad covers a small area per pass, so a mini polisher works alongside a 15 mm or 21 mm machine rather than replacing one.

What we list

We do not list a mini polisher yet. The HLR75 and the PXE 80 kit are documented by their makers, but neither is in our catalog. Until one is, use this page to judge any mini polisher by its plate size, its orbit, and whether its batteries and charger come from the same maker.

Next

Questions

What size pad does a mini polisher use?

RUPES's HLR75 uses a 75 mm (3-inch) backing plate. FLEX's PXE 80 set includes 30 mm and 75 mm backing pads.[1][2]

How long does the RUPES HLR75 battery last?

RUPES says its 18 V 2.5 Ah pack runs the HLR75 for about 35-45 minutes, and that the dedicated charger fills it in about 35 minutes. The iBrid Power Adapter lets it run continuously.[1]

Does the HLR75 battery fit the RUPES HLR15 or HLR21?

Do not assume so. Both are 18 V, but RUPES lists a 2.5 Ah pack for the HLR75 and a 5 Ah pack for the HLR15 and HLR21, and says the HLR75 charger is custom designed for its pack.[1][4]

What comes in the FLEX PXE 80 kit?

FLEX's US kit 493503 includes a rotary adapter, random orbital adapters with 3 mm and 12 mm stroke, 30 mm and 75 mm backing pads, two 12 V 2.5 Ah batteries and a FLEX charger.[2]

Sources and changes

  1. BIGFOOT HLR75 MINI iBRID POLISHER (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES HLR75 iBrid mini polisher: 75 mm plate, 12 mm orbit, 18 V battery, power adapter, runtime, charger. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. 12V Multi-Polisher-Set (493503) (FLEX Power Tools (US)) · Manufacturer · FLEX PXE 80 12 V multi-polisher kit 493503 (US site): drive adapters, backing pads, batteries, charger, features. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Rotary vs Dual Action (DA) Polishers: Which Are Best? (Auto Care HQ) · Independent source · Independent detailing explainer comparing rotary and dual-action polishers. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. New BigFoot iBrid polishers HLR21 HLR15 (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES launch page for HLR15/HLR21 iBrid polishers: corded/cordless operation, 18 V 5 Ah battery, motor power, runtime, dual charger. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. Operator's Manual, Cat. No. 2684-20, 2685-20 M18 FUEL 15 mm / 21 mm Random Orbital Polisher (Milwaukee Tool) · Manufacturer · Milwaukee operator's manual 58-14-0258 for the 2684-20 and 2685-20 (US/Canada): specifications, safety warnings, pad/plate fitting, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.