Shortlist · Cordless and battery platforms

Cordless polishers by battery platform

Two tool-only cordless polishers on their makers' own platforms: Makita's XOP02Z for 18V LXT and FLEX's FX3321-Z for FLEX 24V, with the battery rules for each.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money · How we research

Short answer

Pick a cordless polisher by the battery platform you already own. We list two: Makita's XOP02Z for Makita 18V LXT, and FLEX's FX3321-Z for FLEX 24V. Both are sold as tool only, so the battery and charger are extra.[1][2] Makita says its batteries work only within each platform,[3] and FLEX lists the FX3321 as compatible with its 24V batteries and chargers.[2] We do not list a Milwaukee M18 or RUPES iBrid polisher yet.

Platform first, polisher second

A cordless polisher's batteries belong to one closed system. Makita says its batteries are compatible only within each platform: 18V LXT batteries with LXT tools, 40V max XGT with XGT tools.[3] Milwaukee says the same of M12 and M18.[4] If your drill and impact driver are already on one of these platforms, a bare polisher on that platform costs you no new battery system. If you own none, choose the platform as carefully as the polisher.

For Makita 18V LXT owners

Makita XOP02Z 18V LXT brushless 5 in/6 in dual action random orbit polisher (tool only)

XOP02Z tool only, with 5 in 197923-2 and 6 in 197929-0 plates

Pick it if: Readers who already own Makita 18V LXT batteries

Why it's here
Makita specifies an 18V LXT brushless dual-action polisher with selectable forced rotation or free spin, and says LXT batteries work with LXT tools. Our catalog's variant includes 5-inch and 6-inch plates.
Watch out
Tool only: no battery or charger. A short 7/32-inch orbit, not a 15 mm long throw, and Makita lists it at 7.9 lbs with a battery fitted. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Makita before you buy.
Gauge type
Not stated
Valid substrate
Not stated
Calibration evidence
Not stated
Orbit throw
5.6 (7/32 in)Manufacturer spec
Check price on Amazon Opens amazon.com

For FLEX 24V owners

FLEX FX3321-Z 24V brushless cordless random orbital polisher, 15 mm (tool only)

FX3321-Z tool only

Pick it if: Readers who already own FLEX 24V batteries and want a long-throw polisher

Why it's here
FLEX lists it as a 15 mm random orbital polisher on its own 24V platform, with a 6-inch maximum backing pad: a long-throw machine without a cord.
Watch out
Tool only: no battery or charger, and it needs genuine FLEX 24V packs. FLEX's page gives different plate part numbers for the tool-only and kit versions. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or FLEX before you buy.
Gauge type
Not stated
Valid substrate
Not stated
Calibration evidence
Not stated
Orbit throw
15 mmManufacturer spec
Check price on Amazon Opens amazon.com

The two picks side by side

Makita XOP02ZFLEX FX3321-Z
PlatformMakita 18V LXT[1]FLEX 24V[2]
MotionSwitchable: random orbit with forced rotation, or free spin[1]Random orbital[2]
Orbit7/32 in, about 5.6 mm[1]15 mm[2]
Plates in our catalog's variant5 in (197923-2) and 6 in (197929-0)[1]5 in and 6 in, but FLEX's page is inconsistent on which part numbers; 6-inch maximum backing pad[2]
Battery and chargerNot included[1]Not included[2]

The two machines do different jobs. The XOP02Z is a short-throw machine whose forced-rotation mode keeps the pad turning under load, which RUPES describes as more aggressive and generally more vibrating than random orbital motion.[5] The FX3321-Z is a long-throw machine, closer to a corded 15 mm polisher in how it moves. The forced-rotation vs free-spinning guide explains the difference.

Buying the battery and charger

  • Genuine packs only. Makita warns that non-genuine Makita batteries may burst and cause fires, injury or property damage.[6] Do not use packs sold as a replacement "for" Makita or FLEX, or a cross-brand adapter.
  • The maker's charger. Milwaukee's manual explains why: a charger suitable for one battery type may create a fire risk with another.[7] Makita says its 18V charger cannot charge its 7.2V, 12V max or 36V lithium-ion batteries.[3]
  • Check the seller. On Amazon, look for "Ships from / Sold by" Amazon.com or the brand. Makita's US site links to its Amazon brand store, but a brand store does not make every offer Makita's.[8][9]

We do not list batteries or chargers yet: none of the genuine packs or chargers we checked had a seller we could accept.

The platforms we do not list yet

  • Milwaukee M18. Milwaukee's 2684-20 (15 mm) and 2685-20 (21 mm) take all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries and chargers.[10] Milwaukee's where-to-buy panel listed retailers such as Home Depot and ACME Tools but not Amazon,[11] and we have not found a listing we can accept.
  • RUPES iBrid. RUPES's HLR15 and HLR21 run cordless or corded on an 18 V 5 Ah pack.[12] RUPES links its own dealers and shop rather than a marketplace store.[13]
  • FLEX 18 V. FLEX's XFE 15 kit pairs the polisher with two 18 V 5.0 Ah batteries and a FLEX charger.[14] It is not in our catalog.

What we have not verified

We have no independent runtime figures for either machine, and FLEX's 24V specifications come from its product page rather than our verified research. We found no FLEX statement on whether its 18 V and 24V packs cross over, so treat them as separate. The battery compatibility guide has the makers' rules in full.

Questions

Can I use my Makita drill battery in the XOP02Z?

Yes, if it is a Makita 18V LXT battery. Makita says LXT batteries work with LXT tools.[3]

Do FLEX 18 V batteries fit the FX3321-Z?

We found no FLEX statement that they do. FLEX lists the FX3321 as compatible with all FLEX 24V batteries, chargers and tools, so use FLEX 24V packs and a FLEX charger.[2]

Why is there no Milwaukee M18 polisher here?

Milwaukee's where-to-buy panel listed retailers but not Amazon, and we have not found a listing for the 2684-20 or 2685-20 that meets our seller bar. Both take all M18 REDLITHIUM batteries.[11][10]

Sources and changes

  1. XOP02Z 18V LXT Brushless Cordless 5" / 6" Dual Action Random Orbit Polisher, Tool Only (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita XOP02Z (US): drive modes, OPM/RPM, orbit diameter, pad size, battery platform, tool-only status. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. Random Orbital Polisher Kit | FLEX (FX3321-2C) (FLEX Power Tools (US)) · Manufacturer · FLEX FX3321 24 V cordless random orbital polisher (US site): kit FX3321-2C and tool-only FX3321-Z configurations, contents, specs, FLEX 24V compatibility, accessory list naming FT333/FT334 as orbital backing pads. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Makita U.S.A. FAQ (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita USA service FAQ: battery platform compatibility (CXT, LXT, XGT), chargers. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. How to Choose a Milwaukee Tool Battery · Manufacturer · Milwaukee guide to its M12, M18 and MX FUEL battery systems and interchangeability. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. Gear driven dual action polisher - Bigfoot Mille LK900E (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES LK900E gear-driven (forced rotation) polisher: orbit, backing pad sizes, power, rpm, definition of gear-driven motion. · checked 2026-10-07
  6. Choose Genuine Makita Parts & Accessories (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita USA warning on non-genuine ('knock-off') lithium-ion batteries and how to identify genuine packs. · checked 2026-10-07
  7. Operator's Manual, Cat. No. 2684-20, 2685-20 M18 FUEL 15 mm / 21 mm Random Orbital Polisher (Milwaukee Tool) · Manufacturer · Milwaukee operator's manual 58-14-0258 for the 2684-20 and 2685-20 (US/Canada): specifications, safety warnings, pad/plate fitting, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  8. Makita U.S.A. Shop Online (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita USA 'Shop Online' page listing online resellers, read in a browser on 2026-10-07. · checked 2026-10-07
  9. What is an Amazon storefront? (Amazon Brand Store) (Amazon (Sell on Amazon)) · Official documentation · Amazon seller blog explaining Brand Stores and their requirements (Professional account, Brand Registry with a pending or registered trademark). · checked 2026-10-07
  10. 2684-20 M18 FUEL 15mm Random Orbital Polisher (Milwaukee Tool) · Manufacturer · Milwaukee 2684-20 (US site): pad capacity, speed range, battery compatibility, battery clearance. · checked 2026-10-07
  11. 2684-20 Where To Buy (Shop Online panel) (Milwaukee Tool (retailer widget by Wayvia)) · Manufacturer · Retailer list shown by the 'Where To Buy' button on Milwaukee's US 2684-20 page, read in a browser on 2026-10-07. · checked 2026-10-07
  12. New BigFoot iBrid polishers HLR21 HLR15 (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES launch page for HLR15/HLR21 iBrid polishers: corded/cordless operation, 18 V 5 Ah battery, motor power, runtime, dual charger. · checked 2026-10-07
  13. Look for the Rupes dealer near you (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES dealer/distributor locator page. · checked 2026-10-07
  14. Cordless Random orbital Polisher (459542) (FLEX Power Tools (US)) · Manufacturer · FLEX XFE 15 150 18-EC cordless 15 mm polisher kit 459542 (US site): kit contents, features, battery system. · checked 2026-10-07
  15. Lithium-ion battery safety (Health Canada) · Standard · Health Canada consumer advice on charging, damaged batteries and certified chargers. Read via web fetch. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.