Shortlist · Polishers

Dual-action polishers by job

Three dual-action polishers with a maker-stated 120 V supply or battery platform: FLEX's corded and cordless 15 mm machines and Makita's switchable XOP02Z.

We may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. Unless a page says otherwise, our picks come from published specifications and listing research, not hands-on testing. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we make money · How we research

Short answer

Three dual-action polishers whose makers state the power source: FLEX's FC3321-Z, a 120 V corded 15 mm long-throw machine;[1] Makita's XOP02Z, a cordless 18V LXT short-throw machine that switches between forced rotation and free spin;[2] and FLEX's FX3321-Z, a cordless 15 mm machine on FLEX's 24V platform.[3] Choose by the job and by the power you already have, not by the throw number alone.

How we chose

Each pick is a dual-action machine with a stated 120 V supply or a named battery platform from the tool's own maker, sold on Amazon under the brand's storefront. We do not test products; the specs below are the makers' own. We did not include rotaries here (see rotary vs dual-action), and we do not list a 21 mm or a mini polisher yet.

Corded 15 mm long throw

FLEX FC3321-Z 120 V brushless random orbital polisher (15 mm)

FC3321-Z with 5 in (FT333) and 6 in (FT334) backing plates

Pick it if: Whole-car polishing near an outlet, without a battery platform

Why it's here
FLEX lists it as a 120 V random orbital polisher with a 15 mm orbit, supplied with 5-inch (FT333) and 6-inch (FT334) backing plates. A corded machine needs no battery system.
Watch out
FLEX's page text states no plug type or safety mark, and the Amazon listing wrongly calls it battery powered. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or FLEX before you buy.
Gauge type
Not stated
Valid substrate
Not stated
Calibration evidence
Not stated
Orbit throw
15 mmManufacturer spec
Check price on Amazon Opens amazon.com

Cordless short throw with forced rotation

Makita XOP02Z 18V LXT brushless 5 in/6 in dual action random orbit polisher (tool only)

XOP02Z tool only, with 5 in 197923-2 and 6 in 197929-0 plates

Pick it if: Makita 18V LXT owners who want forced rotation for harder paint

Why it's here
Makita specifies selectable forced rotation or free spin, a 7/32-inch orbit and a 5-inch pad on its 18V LXT platform. Forced rotation keeps the pad turning where a free-spinning pad would stall.
Watch out
Tool only: no battery or charger, and it takes only Makita 18V LXT packs. A short-throw machine, not a 15 mm long throw, and Makita lists it at 7.9 lbs with a battery fitted. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or Makita before you buy.
Gauge type
Not stated
Valid substrate
Not stated
Calibration evidence
Not stated
Orbit throw
5.6 (7/32 in)Manufacturer spec
Check price on Amazon Opens amazon.com

Cordless 15 mm long throw

FLEX FX3321-Z 24V brushless cordless random orbital polisher, 15 mm (tool only)

FX3321-Z tool only

Pick it if: FLEX 24V owners, or readers starting a platform, who want a cordless long throw

Why it's here
FLEX lists it on its own 24V battery platform with a 15 mm orbit and a 6-inch maximum backing pad, so it is a long-throw machine without a cord.
Watch out
Tool only: no battery or charger, and it needs genuine FLEX 24V packs. FLEX's page gives different plate part numbers for the tool-only and kit versions, so confirm the plates in the box. On Amazon, check that 'Ships from / Sold by' shows Amazon.com or FLEX before you buy.
Gauge type
Not stated
Valid substrate
Not stated
Calibration evidence
Not stated
Orbit throw
15 mmManufacturer spec
Check price on Amazon Opens amazon.com

Matching the machine to the job

JobMachine typePick
Whole-car polishing at home, near an outlet15 mm free-spinning long throw, cordedFLEX FC3321-Z
Harder paint or stalling on curves; you own Makita 18V LXTShort throw with switchable forced rotation, cordlessMakita XOP02Z
Whole-car polishing without a cord; you own FLEX 24V15 mm long throw, cordlessFLEX FX3321-Z

Long throw versus short throw. A 15 mm free-spinning machine is forgiving: if friction stops the pad, RUPES explains, the motion simply becomes orbital.[4] A gear-driven machine keeps the pad rotating, which RUPES describes as more aggressive and generally more vibrating.[5] Makita's XOP02Z offers both, at a 7/32-inch (about 5.6 mm) orbit with a 5-inch pad, 0-6,800 OPM and 0-780 RPM.[2] The throw guide explains the numbers.

Corded versus cordless. A corded machine runs without a battery system. A cordless tool sold tool only needs the maker's own packs and charger: Makita says its batteries are compatible only within each platform.[6] See corded vs cordless.

What each listing and maker page says

  • FLEX FC3321-Z. FLEX lists it as a 120 V brushless random orbital polisher with a 15 mm orbit, supplied with 5-inch (FT333) and 6-inch (FT334) backing plates and rated for pads up to 6 inches.[1] The Amazon listing's power-source field says battery powered, which is wrong for this corded tool; go by FLEX's page. FLEX's page text states no plug type or safety mark, so check the rating label when it arrives.[1]
  • Makita XOP02Z. Makita specifies an 18V LXT brushless polisher sold tool only, weighing 7.9 lbs with a battery fitted.[2] Makita supplies it with 5-inch (197923-2) and 6-inch (197929-0) plates and no battery or charger.[2] Makita's US "Shop Online" page links to Makita's Amazon brand store, but that does not make every Amazon offer Makita's.[7]
  • FLEX FX3321-Z. FLEX lists it on its 24V platform with a 15 mm orbit and a 6-inch maximum backing pad, tool only.[3] FLEX's own page gives different plate part numbers for the tool-only and kit versions, so confirm which plates are in the box.[3]

Before you buy

  1. Check the seller. On Amazon, buy when "Ships from / Sold by" shows Amazon.com or the brand. An Amazon Brand Store shows the brand is enrolled, not who sells a given offer.[8]
  2. Cordless: budget for the system. Both cordless picks ship without a battery or charger. Buy genuine packs and the maker's charger; see genuine vs aftermarket batteries.
  3. Plan your pads. Match the pad to the plate using your tool maker's rule; see pad and backing-plate compatibility.

What we have not verified

We have no independent data on how fast any of these machines corrects paint, how much they vibrate, or how long a pack lasts in the cordless ones. We did not find a North American safety mark in the text of FLEX's pages, and we read the Amazon sellers from outside the US, so the seller you see may differ.

Questions

Which of these polishers suits a first-time user?

The FLEX FC3321-Z: a corded 15 mm free-spinning machine. Free-spinning rotation backs off when friction rises, which RUPES describes as how random orbital motion works.[4]

Do the cordless picks come with batteries?

No. Both the Makita XOP02Z and the FLEX FX3321-Z variants we list are tool only. Buy the maker's own packs and charger.[2][3]

Why no 21 mm or mini polisher?

None we checked met our bar for a maker-stated power source and a seller we could accept. The 15 mm vs 21 mm and mini polisher guides explain what to look for.

Sources and changes

  1. 120V Brushless Random Orbital Polisher | FLEX (FC3321-Z) (FLEX Power Tools (US)) · Manufacturer · FLEX FC3321-Z 120 V corded random orbital polisher (US site): included backing pads, speeds, orbit, input power, maximum pad size, weight, cord length. · checked 2026-10-07
  2. XOP02Z 18V LXT Brushless Cordless 5" / 6" Dual Action Random Orbit Polisher, Tool Only (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita XOP02Z (US): drive modes, OPM/RPM, orbit diameter, pad size, battery platform, tool-only status. · checked 2026-10-07
  3. Random Orbital Polisher Kit | FLEX (FX3321-2C) (FLEX Power Tools (US)) · Manufacturer · FLEX FX3321 24 V cordless random orbital polisher (US site): kit FX3321-2C and tool-only FX3321-Z configurations, contents, specs, FLEX 24V compatibility, accessory list naming FT333/FT334 as orbital backing pads. · checked 2026-10-07
  4. Random orbital polisher - Bigfoot LHR15ES (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES LHR15ES corded random orbital polisher: orbit, backing pad, power, rpm, thread, matched pads, definition of random orbital motion. · checked 2026-10-07
  5. Gear driven dual action polisher - Bigfoot Mille LK900E (RUPES S.p.A.) · Manufacturer · RUPES LK900E gear-driven (forced rotation) polisher: orbit, backing pad sizes, power, rpm, definition of gear-driven motion. · checked 2026-10-07
  6. Makita U.S.A. FAQ (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita USA service FAQ: battery platform compatibility (CXT, LXT, XGT), chargers. · checked 2026-10-07
  7. Makita U.S.A. Shop Online (Makita U.S.A., Inc.) · Manufacturer · Makita USA 'Shop Online' page listing online resellers, read in a browser on 2026-10-07. · checked 2026-10-07
  8. What is an Amazon storefront? (Amazon Brand Store) (Amazon (Sell on Amazon)) · Official documentation · Amazon seller blog explaining Brand Stores and their requirements (Professional account, Brand Registry with a pending or registered trademark). · checked 2026-10-07
  9. Operator's Manual, Cat. No. 2684-20, 2685-20 M18 FUEL 15 mm / 21 mm Random Orbital Polisher (Milwaukee Tool) · Manufacturer · Milwaukee operator's manual 58-14-0258 for the 2684-20 and 2685-20 (US/Canada): specifications, safety warnings, pad/plate fitting, warranty. · checked 2026-10-07
  • : First published.

Next editorial review due 2027-01-07.